Founded in 1590 - Berenberg is one of the oldest private banks

Berenberg can trace its roots back to 1590 when the brothers Hans and Paul Berenberg established their firm in Hamburg. It is the oldest owner-managed private bank* in Germany and one of the oldest banks in the world.

With assets under management of €40 billion and 1,300 employees, we are one of the leading private banks in the world. In the fifth century of our existence, we are a modern, dynamic private bank with a clear strategic positioning. 
Berenberg offers its clients individual services through four divisions:  

Private Banking: This division serves wealthy private investors and families, in many cases across generational lines. This is a complex task involving great responsibility, which we gladly accept by offering advice with proven competence and continuity. We employ opportunity-oriented risk management to maintain and increase the wealth of our clients. 
Investment Banking: Our broad-based Investment Banking division focuses on service and client operations in the fields of equities, financial markets and M&A advisory services. Our Research department analyses over 600 European equities, and we also accompany IPOs, capital increases and special transactions, and provide advice for mergers and acquisitions. 
Asset Management: Quantitative investment strategies implemented in asset management accounts and retail and special-purpose funds are at the heart of our Asset Management division. The customer base consists primarily of institutional investors like insurers, pension funds, banks and foundations. 
Corporate Banking: We advise Mittelstand clients on the selection and implementation of optimum financing structures and offer individual advice in selected fields. We maintain specific expertise in special segments like shipping and China.   
* Private banks were the predominant organisational form in the German banking industry until the mid-19th century. A private bank in the narrow sense is a bank run by personally liable owners (“private bankers”).

Berenberg Wappen

Gegründet 1590 - Berenberg ist Deutschlands älteste Privatbank

Berenberg führt ihren Ursprung auf das Jahr 1590 zurück. Sie ist damit nicht nur eine der ältesten Banken der Welt, sie hat in den letzten Jahren auch eine sehr dynamische Entwicklung genommen.

Mit einem verwalteten Vermögen von über 40 Mrd. Euro und 1.500 Mitarbeitern zählen wir zu den führenden Privatbanken in Europa.

Unseren Kunden bieten wir individuelle Dienstleistungen in vier Geschäftsbereichen:

Wealth Managment: Wir begleiten vermögende Privatanleger und Familien – die Betreuung erfolgt häufig auch generationenübergreifend. Dies ist eine komplexe und verantwortungsvolle Aufgabe, der wir uns mit ausgewiesener Kompetenz und Kontinuität in der Beratung annehmen. Über ein chancenorientiertes Risikomanagement tragen wir dazu bei, das Vermögen unserer Kunden zu erhalten und zu mehren.

Investment Banking: Im Fokus des breit aufgestellten Investment Banking steht das Dienstleistungs- und Kundengeschäft in den Bereichen Equities, Financial Markets und M&A Advisory. Unser Research analysiert über 600 europäische Aktienwerte, darüber hinaus begleiten wir Börsengänge, Kapitalerhöhungen sowie Sondertransaktionen und beraten bei Fusionen und Unternehmensübernahmen.  

Asset Management: Quantitative Anlagestrategien, die in Vermögensverwaltungsdepots, Publikums- und Spezialfonds umgesetzt werden, stehen im Mittelpunkt unseres Asset Management. Der Kundenkreis besteht in erster Linie aus institutionellen Anlegern wie Versicherungen, Pensionskassen, Banken und Stiftungen. 

Corporate Banking: Mittelständische Unternehmen beraten wir bei der Auswahl und Umsetzung optimaler Finanzierungsstrukturen und bieten in ausgewählten Bereichen individuelle Beratung. Besonderes Know-how halten wir in Spezialsegmenten wie Schifffahrt und China vor.   

* Privatbanken waren bis Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts die vorherrschende Organisationsform im deutschen Bankgewerbe. Unter Privatbank im engeren Sinne versteht man eine von persönlich haftenden Gesellschaftern („Privatbankiers“) geführte Privatbank.

Berenberg Wappen